Home / Programme

Draft Program for Digital Summit 2019
Friday 20 September 2019, Convention Centre Dublin
09.30-09.40Welcome Remarks, Mr. Pat Breen,T.D Minister of State
Opening Address by Mr Leo Varadkar, An Taoiseach
09.40-10.00Keynote 1: Technology and Politics - Kent Walker, SVP, Global Affairs & Chief Legal Officer, Google
10.00-11.10Keynote 2: Artificial Intelligence – the European response and global challenges
Ann Johnson, CVP Cybersecurity, Microsoft
Catelijne Muller, President and Founder of ALLAI and Member of the EU High Level Expert Group on AI
Dr. James Luke, CTO for the Global Business Services' Public Sector account, UK and Ireland, IBM
Prof. Mark Ferguson, Director General, Science Foundation Ireland
Jonathan McCrea, Broadcaster and Founder Whipsmart Media (Moderator)
11.10-11.30Coffee Break
11.30-13.00Panel Discussions
Panel 1Panel 2Panel 3Panel 4Panel 5
EcoCem RoomWicklow Meeting Room 2Wicklow Meeting Room 1Wicklow Meeting Room 3The Auditorium
DSM 2 and the Future of the Digital EconomyEducation and Machine LearningCountering Online DisinformationFintech: The Future of the Financial Sector?Ethics and AI – Not all Data is created equal
Chair: Erik O’Donovan, Head of Digital Economy Policy, IBECChair: Harold Hislop , Chief Inspector, D/Education & SkillsChair: Dr. Jane Suiter, Director, Institute for Future Media and Journalism (DCU)Chair: Quinn Dupont, Assistant Professor, School of Business, University College DublinChair: Dr. Martyn Farrows, COO, Soapbox Labs
Paul Hofheinz, President, and Co-Founder at the Lisbon CouncilProfessor Rose Luckin, Director of EDUCATE at UCLLutz Guellner, Head of Strategic Comms, EEASPeter Oakes, Founder Fintech IrelandJen Gennai, Head of Responsible Innovation, Global Affairs, Google
Una Fitzpatrick, Director, Technology Ireland, IBECDr. Patricia Scanlon, Founder and CEO, Soapbox Labs.John Naughton, Director, Press Fellowship Programme
Wolfson College, Cambridge
Gerry Cross , Director Policy & Risk, Central Bank, Ireland Dr Veronica Barassi, Dept. of Media, Communications & Cultural Studies, University of London
Claire Bury, Deputy Director General, DG Connect, European CommissionConrad Wolfram, CEO, (European) Wolfram Research Meg Chang, Public Policy Manager, Elections, Facebook Eleanor Daly, General Counsel, FexcoKate Colleary, IAPP Country Leader Ireland
Director Pembroke Privacy
Professor Alan Smeaton, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, Dublin City University
13.00 – 14.00Lunch
14.00 – 15.10Keynote 3: The Future of Data and Privacy
John Frank, Vice President, European Union Government Affairs,
Jules Polonetsky, CEO, The Future of Privacy Forum
Dale Sunderland, Deputy Commissioner, Data Protection Commission Ireland
Aoife Sexton, Chief Privacy Officer, Trúata
Cecilia Álvarez, Director of Privacy Policy Engagement, EMEA, Facebook
Mr. Christian D’Cunha, Head of the European Data Protection Supervisor Cabinet
Jonathan McCrea, Broadcaster and Founder Whipsmart Media (Moderator)
15:10-16:45Panel Discussions
Panel 1Panel 2Panel 3Panel 4Panel 5
Wicklow Meeting Room 2Wicklow Meeting Room 3EcoCem RoomThe AuditoriumWicklow Meeting Room 1
Digital technology & well-beingHealthcare & AI: Myths and RealitiesCyber-Security: defending the weakest linkGovernments driving digital transformationCompetition in the Digital Economy
Chair: Dr. Karlin Lillington, Journalist, The Irish TimesChair: Martin Curley, Director of Digital Transformation and Open Innovation at Ireland’s Health Service ExecutiveChair: Richard Browne, Internet Policy, Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment , IrelandChair: Dr. Lucy Fallon- Byrne, Assistant Secretary Reform, Dept. Public Expenditure and Reform, IrelandChair: Isolde Goggin, Chairperson, Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC), Ireland
Dr.Edwina Dunne, Business Director, GrandpadDee Dinneen, Partnerships Manager, Kheiron MedicalDr. Donna O'Shea, HoD Computer Science, Cork IT, Cyber IrelandLiam Maxwell, Director, Government Transformation, AWSProfessor Diane Coyle, Co-Director, Bennett Institute for Public Policy at the University of Cambridge
Alex Cooney, CEO, Cybersafe IrelandMr.Emmet Browne CEO, Nuritas Theodore Christakis, Professor of Law, Université Grenoble Alpes, French National Digital CouncilSoren Gaard, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Industry Business and Financial Affairs, DenmarkMr. Nicholas Banasevic, Head of Unit with responsibility for antitrust in the field of IT, the internet and consumer electronics, DG Competition
Professor Andrew Przybylski, Director of Research at the Oxford Internet Institute Dr. Petra Wilson, Managing Director, Health Connected PartnersEmma Smith,
Group Technology Security Director, Vodafone Group
Michael McGrath, Group Head IT, UDG Healthcare plc.Eline Chivot, Senior Policy Analyst, Centre for Data Innovation
Prof. Brian Caulfield, Director, INSIGHT centre for Data Analytics
16:45-17:45Drinks Reception

Print Friendly, PDF & Email